Congregation Emanu-El

7011 E. Central
Wichita, KS 67206

(316) 684-5148


Bar / Bat Mitzvah

The celebration of Bar Mitzvah or Bat Mitzvah at Congregation Emanu-El is a joyous, community event filled with meaning and promise.  Visitors and out-of-town family members constantly speak of how beautiful the services are and how well-prepared the Bar or Bat Mitzvah is.  At the same time, we know that, important as it is, the ceremony is just one step in a person’s Jewish education. 

The Bar/Bat Mitzvah journey begins in Religious School and kicks into high gear approximately two years before the date of the ceremony.  This is when they begin their religious and Hebrew studies specifically directed toward the ceremony, both one-on-one with the rabbi as well as in class with their peers. 

At their Bat/Bar Mitzvah celebration, the boy or girl will lead the Erev Shabbat and Shacharit services (Friday night and Saturday morning).  They will chant from the Torah and the haftarah (the reading from the Prophets) and deliver an original d’var torah (an interpretive sermon based on the text). 

By the time family and friends are congratulating the bar/bat mitzvah and their family, it will be clear that it was an experience filled with inspiration and significance, and that this young person is ready to begin to assume the responsibilities that fall on Jewish adults. 

Please contact our office in the Spring of your child’s 5th grade to arrange a date for this important simcha

 

 

 
 

Temple Events

Sunday, June 4, 11:30 a.m.
Choir rehearsal        

Monday, June 5, 7:30 p.m.
Sisterhood Board Meeting CE

Wednesday June 7, 7:30 p.m.
Brotherhood Meeting CE

Friday, June 9, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat Service

Saturday, June 10, 10:00 a.m.
Shabbat Morning Service

Sunday, June 11, 12:30 p.m.
Choir Rehearsal

Thursday, June 15, 7:05 p.m.
Brotherhood CE outing
Wingnuts baseball game

Friday, June 16, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat Service

Saturday, June 17, 10:00 a.m.
Shabbat Morning Service

Sunday, June 18, 12:30 p.m.
Choir rehearsal

Wednesday, June 21, 7:00 p.m.
Board Meeting CE
                               
Friday, June 23, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat Service

Saturday, June 24, 10:00 a.m.
Shabbat Morning Service
Jayden Billershaw in honor
of his Bar Mirzvah held in June 2017

Sunday, June 25, 12:30 p.m.
Choir Rehearal

Friday, June 30, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat Service with Choir

Community Events

Thursday , June 1, 7:00 p.m.
MKJF Meet & Greet
(At The Looney Bin)

Sunday, June 4, 1:00 p.m.
MKJF Annual Meeting
(Larkspur Bistro)

Wednesday, June 21, 11:45 a.m.
MKJF Café Chevre (CE)

Monday, June 26, 7:15 p.m.
Hadassah Board (Judy Eichhorn’s house)

 

 

 

 

This Year in Photos

Read our current Ruach

June Sabbath Services

Friday, June 2, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat Family Service

Saturday, June 3, 10:00 a.m.
Morning Shabbat
Naso-Num. 4:21-7:89

Friday, June 9, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat

Saturday, June 10, 10:00 a.m.
Morning Shabbat
Behalotecha-Num.8:1-12:16

Friday, June 16, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat

Saturday, June 17, 10:00 a.m.
Morning Shabbat
Shelach Lecha-Num. 13:1-15:41

Friday, June 23, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat

Saturday, June 24, 10:00 a.m.
Morning Shabbat
Korach-Num. 16:1-18:32; Num.
28:9-15

Friday, June 30, 7:00 p.m.
Erev Shabbat